Our Lady of the Rosary Parish Kellyville

Diocese Youth Council commissioned


Parramatta Diocese Youth Council Commissioning News Story
Photography: Len Lara

On Saturday 8 November the inaugural Parramatta Diocese Youth Council was commissioned at Archbishop Anthony’s Farewell Youth Mass.

Witnessed by more than 1,100 youth and young adults at St Patrick’s Church, Blacktown the group of 15 formally committed themselves to a term of three years’ service for the Diocese as an advisory body to the Bishop/Administrator and Catholic Youth Parramatta.

The aim of the Council is to provide vision and overall cohesion of ministry with young people in the Catholic Diocese of Parramatta.

The Council will work collaboratively with church agencies and communities to ensure that young people have coherent and coordinated opportunities to encounter the person of Jesus Christ, which in turn engages and animates their spiritual lives in an ongoing way.

It is hoped that the Council will identify gaps and areas of concern to provide feedback and steps for development, particularly in carrying out and supporting initiatives that relate to youth in the Pastoral Plan – Faith in our Future.

The Council seeks to represent (but not be representative) the variety of services and ministries for youth in the diocese including social services, education, religious orders, pastoral ministries and communities.

The members are:

Rev Paul Roberts Episcopal Vicar for Evangelisation and Pastoral Planning

Mr James Camden Director of Catholic Youth Parramatta

Sr Rosie Drum Assistant Director of Catholic Youth Parramatta

Rev John Paul Escarlan Diocesan Master of Ceremonies

Mr. Steven Buhagiar CEO Teaching Educator New Evangelisation & St Mary’s Parish Youth Leader

Mr Jeremiah Wilkes Baulkham Hills Parish Youth Minister

Mr James Hay Castle Hill Parish Youth Minister

Ms Alison Ryan Toongabbie Parish Youth Minister

Ms Karina Anthony Delany College Teacher and Baulkham Hills Parish Youth Leader

Mr Donnie Velasco Marayong Parish Youth Leader & IFM Program Planning Coordinator

Ms Raimie Caramancion Youth for Christ International

Mr Philippe Dulawan Lasallian Youth Ministry Coordinator & Blacktown Parish Youth Leader

Ms Olivia Lee Parramatta Parish Youth Leader

Ms Malia Lolesio Mt Druitt Parish Youth Leader

Ms Patrice Moriarty St Clair Parish Youth Leader

Subscribe to E-News to be notified by email of the Latest Diocesan News

« Return to news list