WYD: Live on Xt3.com

12/08/2011

WYD Xt3 News Story
The WYD 2011 Opening Mass in Madrid's Plaza de Cibeles.
Photo: Alphonsus Fok & Grace Lu

Xt3.com will be streaming live from World Youth Day Madrid 2011, covering the gathering of the Australian pilgrims in Madrid on 16 August right through to the Final Mass with Pope Benedict XIV on 21 August.

Full Webcast Schedule

1. Gathering of Australian Pilgrims in Madrid: Tuesday 16 August

All of the Australian Bishops, Priests and pilgrims who have travelled to Madrid for World Youth Day will gather for a celebration of the Catholic Church in Australia. This is the only moment during the WYD week in which all Australian pilgrims will be together.

Time:

Madrid – 12noon 16/8/11

Sydney – 8pm 16/8/11

London – 11am 16/8/11

New York – 6am 16/8/11

2. Papal Arrival Barajas Airport: Thursday 18 August

Pope Benedict XVI will arrive at the Barajas Airport in Spain. There will be a small welcome ceremony at the state hall at 12pm local time. This will be the first event in the Holy Father’s schedule for World Youth Day.

Time:

Madrid – 12noon 18/8/11

Sydney – 8pm 18/8/11

London – 11am 18/8/11

New York – 6am 18/8/11

3. Papal Welcome Ceremony with Youth: Thursday 18 August

Join the Holy Father for the welcome ceremony with youth at Cibeles In Plaza de la Independencia. Pope Benedict XVI will pass through the Puerta de Alcalá with young people from all the continents. After this event, he will ride in Popemobile to Plaza de Cibeles.

Time:

Madrid – 7:30pm 18/8/11

Sydney – 3:30am 19/8/11

London – 6:30pm 18/8/11

New York – 1:30pm 18/8/11

4. Stations of the Cross: Friday 19 August

The well known World Youth Day ‘Vía crucis’ (Stations of the Cross) re-enactment will take place through the streets of the city of Madrid. Statues from traditional Spanish Holy Week celebrations will be used to illustrate each station.

Time:

Madrid – 7:30pm 19/8/11

Sydney – 3:30am 20/8/11

London – 6:30pm 19/8/11

New York – 1:30pm 19/8/11

5. Vigil with the Pope: Saturday 20 August

After the WYD pilgrims make their way from downtown Madrid to the the Cuatro Vientos aerodrome, the crowds will gather for an overnight Vigil. The Pope will arrive at the Cuatro Vientos aerodrome at 8:30pm local time, and will lead Eucharistic Adoration, followed by a Papal address.

Time:

Madrid – 8:30pm 20/8/11

Sydney – 4:30am 21/8/11

London – 7:30pm 20/8/11

New York – 2:30pm 20/8/11

6.  WYD Final Mass: Sunday 21 August

Pope Benedict XVI will concelebrate Mass with thousands of bishops and priests, challenging all of us to go out into the world witness the faith, as the Lord did with his Apostles. At the end of the Mass, the Holy Father will announce where the next World Youth Day will be held.

Time:

Madrid – 9am 21/8/11

Sydney – 5pm 21/8/11

London – 8am 21/8/11

New York – 3am 21/8/11

(Visit www.timeanddate.com/time to convert these times to your timezone)

Download 'How To Watch The WYD Live Webcasts' PDF Download 'How To Watch The WYD Live Webcasts' PDF

Go to Xt3.com

Related:

Parramatta WYD celebration


« Return to news list