Jubilee Mass to celebrate Diocese's 25 years


Diocese of Parramatta Silver Jubilee Calendar
The Catholic Diocese of Parramatta Silver Jubilee Calendar, sponsored by Catholic Church Insurances.
The Bishop of Parramatta, Most Rev Anthony Fisher OP, will preside at a Silver Jubilee Mass on Thursday 19 May in St Patrick’s Cathedral, as part of the Catholic Diocese of Parramatta's 25-year celebrations this year.

It was on 8 April 1986 that the Diocese was created by Pope John Paul II.

The first Bishop of Parramatta, Most Rev Bede Heather DD, was installed on 19 May 1986. He was succeeded by Most Rev Kevin Manning DD (1996-2010). Bishop Anthony was installed as the third bishop on 4 March 2010.

The Diocese covers 4289 sq km, reaching from Dundas Valley in the east, west to Mount Victoria, south to Luddenham, and north to Richmond. It is made up of 49 Parishes and 85 Catholic schools.

Although the Diocese is only 25 years old, some of its Parishes are much older. The Parish of Parramatta was founded in 1827, Windsor in 1832 and Penrith in 1839. The newest Parish in the Diocese - Rouse Hill - was founded in 2007.

To help celebrate the Jubilee year, a wall calendar has been distributed to Parishes and schools across the Diocese. Printing of the calendar has been sponsored by Catholic Church Insurances: Serving You – Serving Church.

A pictorial history of the Diocese is being produced and will be available later in the year.

Visit Catholic Church Insurances


« Return to news list