Archbishop Denis Hart elected ACBC President


Archbishop Denis Hart, Metropolitan Archbishop of Melbourne, has been elected as the President of the Australian Catholic Bishops Conference at the Australian Bishops Plenary in Sydney on Friday 4 May.

Archbishop Hart takes over from Archbishop Philip Wilson, who has held the post for the past six years.

Archbishop Hart is delighted to have been chosen to serve the Church in Australia in this way.

“I am pleased to be able to serve the Church in any way that I can. I hope to see the faith of Catholics in Jesus Christ grow in this country. I am also grateful for the faith that my brother Bishops have placed in me,” Archbishop Hart said.

“The role of President is one which I will take seriously, and I am humbled to have been elected.”

The Bishops Conference President is elected every two years and can serve up to three terms.

Archbishop Denis James Hart DD was named auxiliary Bishop of Melbourne in 1997 and has been the Archbishop of Melbourne since 2001.

In the Australian Catholic Bishops Conference he has been Chairman of the Bishops Commission for Administration and Information, as well as a member of the Permanent Committee and of the Bishops Commission for Liturgy.

He is also vice-chairman of the International Commission on English in the Liturgy.

Archbishop Philip Wilson was elected as the Vice-President of the Conference at the Bishops Plenary in Sydney.

« Return to news list