History of the Parishes in the Catholic Diocese of Parramatta
From Dundas Valley in the east, west to Katoomba, south to Luddenham, and north to Richmond, the Catholic Diocese of Parramatta is made of 49 vibrant Parishes.
Dating back as early as 1832, each of these Parishes has its own unique story to tell and place in the history of the Diocese's formation and growth.
Merrylands - St Margaret Mary's Parish (Est 1946)
|St Margaret Mary's Church, Merrylands. Photo: Virginia Knight|
The Merrylands Parish was formed in November 1946, having previously been a part of Holy Trinity Parish, Granville.
After discussion between Monsignor McGovern and pioneer parishioner Fred Tripp (who purchased the first block of land), the parish was named in honour of St Margaret Mary.
The foundation Parish priest was Rev Lou Tosi, who built up the parish and school building which was also used as a church.
In February 1965, the parish received a ‘grand gift from Erin Isle in Father Kerrick’, who extended the school and built the church. Rev Bray succeeded him in February 1979, building the school administration block, the hall and five extra classrooms.
The parish has had many conscientious assistant priests who have moved onto other parishes and activities.
The primary school was originally staffed by the Sisters of St Joseph, then by the Marist Sisters.
PARISH PRIESTS & Administrators
Rev Lou Tosi 1946-1965
Rev Kerrisk 1965-1979
Rev Bartholomew Callose (Administrator) 1970
Rev Zvonimir Gavranovic (Administrator) 1991
Rev Peter Lamont (Administrator) 1994-1995
Rev Peter Williams (Administrator) 2010
Rev Joseph Thomas (Administrator) 2010-2011
Rev Roderick Bray 1979-2011
Very Rev Peter G Williams VG (Administrator) 2011-2012
Rev Albert Wasniowski OSPPE 2012 - 2014
Rev Fr Damian Mosakowski OSPPE (Administrator) 2014 - present