History of the Parishes in the Catholic Diocese of Parramatta

From Dundas Valley in the east, west to Katoomba, south to Luddenham, and north to Richmond, the Catholic Diocese of Parramatta is made of 49 vibrant Parishes.

Dating back as early as 1832, each of these Parishes has its own unique story to tell and place in the history of the Diocese's formation and growth.

Histories of the Parishes of the Catholic Diocese of Parramatta
Baulkham Hills - St Michael's Parish (Est 1917)

Baulkham Hills South – Our Lady of Lourdes Parish (Est 1969)

Blackheath - Sacred Heart Parish (Est 1943)

Blacktown - Mary, Queen of the Family Parish Est 2014 [amalgamation of the parishes of St Patrick’s Blacktown - 1946 - and St Michael’s Blacktown South 1970])

Castle Hill - St Bernadette’s Parish (Est 1970)

Cranebrook - Corpus Christi Parish (Est 1992)

Doonside - St John Vianney Parish (Est 1961)

Dundas Valley - St Bernadette's Parish (Est 1963)

Emu Plains - Our Lady of the Way Parish (Est 1974)

Glenbrook - St Finbar's Parish (Est 1965)

Glenmore Park - Padre Pio Parish (Est 2004)

Glenwood-Stanhope Gardens - Blessed John XXIII Parish (Est 2002)

Granville - Holy Trinity Parish (Est 1886)

Granville East - Holy Family Parish (Est 1946)

Greystanes - Our Lady Queen of Peace Parish (Est 1972)

Guildford - St Patrick's Parish (Est 1933)

Harris Park - St Oliver Plunkett's Parish (Est 1940)

Kellyville - Our Lady of The Rosary Parish (Est 1970)

Kenthurst - St Madeleine Sophie Barat Parish (Est 1988)

Kingswood - St Joseph's Parish (Est 1970)

Lalor Park - St Bernadette's Parish (Est 1961)

Lawson - Our Lady of the Nativity Parish (Est 1929)

Luddenham-Warragamba - Sacred Heart Parish (Est 1951)

Marayong - St Andrew's Parish (Est 1961)

Merrylands - St Margaret Mary's Parish (Est 1946)

Mt Druitt - Holy Family Parish (Est 1965)

Mt Druitt South - Sacred Heart Parish (Est 1976)

North Rocks - Christ the King Parish (Est 1970)

Parramatta North - St Monica's Parish (Est 1894)

Penrith - St Nicholas of Myra Parish (Est 1839)

Plumpton - The Good Shepherd Parish (Est 1970)

Quakers Hill - Mary Immaculate Parish (Est 1973)

Richmond - St Monica's Parish (Est 1859)

Riverstone - St John the Evangelist Parish (Est 1951)

Rooty Hill - St Aidan's Parish (Est 1956)

Rouse Hill - Our Lady of the Angels Parish (Est 2007)

Rydalmere - Holy Name of Mary Parish (Est 1889)

St Clair - Holy Spirit Parish (Est 1981)

St Marys - Our Lady of the Rosary Parish (Est 1946)

Seven Hills - Our Lady of Lourdes Parish (Est 1959)

Springwood - St Thomas Aquinas Parish (Est 1935)

Toongabbie - St Anthony of Padua Parish (Est 1951)

Upper Blue Mountains - St Mary of the Cross Mackillop Parish (Est 1992 [amalgamation of the parishes of Katoomba - 1890 - and Leura - 1948])

Wentworthville - Our Lady of Mt Carmel Parish (Est 1946)

Westmead - Sacred Heart Parish (Est 1951)

Windsor - St Matthew's Parish (Est 1832)

Winston Hills - St Paul the Apostle Parish (Est 1970)

‘Follow me.’ And leaving everything he got up and followed him.Luke 5:27-32

Receive our feeds

Did you know that you can receive automatic RSS updates from any page of this website the moment they are updated?